Geico: Tag Team Goes “Scoop! (There It Is)” On Tasha’s Dessert

Tag Team’s “Whoomp! (There It Is)” was one of the most iconic songs of the ’90s “Jock Jams” era. You can still (probably) hear it at sporting events to this day, though it now seems more like an ironic relic of its time. This ironic use becomes apparent in Geico’s latest. Tag Team, who are now well into their 50s, help Tasha plan out dessert. French vanilla, Rocky Road, chocolate, peanut butter, cookie dough…scoop, there it is! Tasha and her husband get into the Tag Team groove, but their daughter looks horrifically embarrassed. And sprinkles! Nicci Carr plays Tasha, Anthony S. Goolsby is the dancing dad, and Amethyst Davis is the annoyed daughter.

About joshw24
34 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

19 Responses to Geico: Tag Team Goes “Scoop! (There It Is)” On Tasha’s Dessert

  1. Rachel Maestas-Escovedo says:

    Brilliant! Just what we all need in this day of pandemic-a warm fuzzy feeling that makes you just stop and dance along. Thank you Geico

  2. Pamela says:

    I love this and keep replaying it. You can’t help but want to get up and dance. The less complicated pre-covid days.
    Sigh

  3. Mary Beth says:

    FINALLY, Geico has a very, very funny commercial. I love, love, love the Tag Team and “Scoop, there it is”!!! I’ve seen it quite a few times and crack up laughing every time🤗🤗🤗

  4. Talbizzle says:

    Best. Geico. Commercial. EVER. Looping this at my next (post-pandemic) ice cream social when it’s time to build sundaes! Brilliant, funny, and groovealicious.
    #Iscreamyouscreamweallscreamfor…Geico!

  5. Jorge says:

    I watch it and just love it. It was a hit when I was young, so it brings back great memories.
    I had no clue, until today , that it was a Geico commercial. I thought it was an Ice Cream commercial. Who cares, it is so much fun, you forget the actual sponsor.
    I must have been captured by the fun!

    Ah, I have been a loyal Geico customer since 1999.

  6. Rocco says:

    I can’t get enough of ‘ Scoop there it is.’ I love this ! It puts me in a great mood. Thanks, Rocriz58.

  7. Stephanie M says:

    I LOVE this commercial!!!!! ❤️💜💙💚

  8. Don K says:

    The song & the nostalgia are great, but the real unsung hero of this commercial is the daughter’s boyfriend. One second he’s as puzzled as his girlfriend as to what’s happening, the next he’s feelin’ it big time & bustin’ a move! Anyone know who that actor is?

  9. Kenneth Stanford says:

    Sooo funny, but the best part comes right before the end when he does a ” Lebron James” with the sprinkles!

  10. Janet Amidon says:

    Is that Black Thought in the ad?

  11. Tommy Thompson says:

    scoop there it is scoop there it is.

  12. Noreen Brennan says:

    Love, love, love this ad. Usually wait to watch anything so I can ff through commercials, they actually make me angry, but I stop and watch this one. Has to be the greatest, feel good commercial ever.

  13. Joe Russo says:

    Every time I watch this commercial, it puts a smile on my face and makes me laugh. Love it!

  14. rskulas says:

    A classic gem of a commercial! Geico did it again! Whomp! There it is!!

  15. Paula R says:

    I love this commercial. As soon as Tasha appears, I laugh until “Sprinkles”. Keep this one around for a LONG TIME. (Ditch captain Ahab–Stupid)

  16. rskulas says:

    Best commercial out there. That ranks up there with the all-time great Super Bowl commercials!

  17. ghostiekim says:

    I love love love this ad…especially the teenage daughter who gets embarrassed by her parent’s enthusiasm for this older hip hop song. Reminds me of my own daughter, Also love the nostalgia and that I too, must resist the urge to get up and dance to it!!

  18. Lovetoshell says:

    Love love love this commercial! Best ever- my husband and I will stop what we are doing to mimick the dance moves and sing along- this commercial always makes us smile!

Leave a comment