Allstate: This Man And His Hood Ornament Sing

The man in Allstate’s ad is driving through the desert when he receives a notification about how much he saved with Allstate. It makes him sing along to the song he’s listening to. And he’s not the only one singing…the fancy hood ornament on his convertible gets in on the action too. By the way, the song is “Opportunities (Let’s Make Lots of Money)” by Pet Shop Boys. Devere Rogers plays the enthusiastic driver, and Courtney Jenae provides the voice of the hood ornament (not Lesley McKinnell as previously written). The car is (according to a YouTube comment), a 2016 BMW 435i Cabriolet with a custom front end. And speaking of YouTube comments, this commercial is pretty popular, with a lot of people calling for an extended version to be made.

About joshw24
34 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

163 Responses to Allstate: This Man And His Hood Ornament Sing

  1. Bonnie Stiles says:

    This commercial makes me smile, I love watching it. I usually hate commercials!
    DUET
    Everything on tv has been so depressing lately.
    Thank you

    • Martha Cooper says:

      This is the best commercial!!!! I don,t like commercials,but this makes you want to dance.It needs to be played more,and longer.Please!!!

    • Louise Cherry says:

      This is my favorite Allstate commercial, and they do need to make an extended version.

      • Shirley says:

        I just LOVE this ad and sing along with it….every time it comes on I stop and sing along with the driver and the hood ornament. It makes my day as I am jumping up and down singing like a banshee.

    • Penelope says:

      I sure hope they take this off the air soon, it’s horrible. And it’s on like 10 times an hour, enough already.

      • Gary Grinwis says:

        Amen, stop already.

      • Lori says:

        ME TOO I hate this commercial the hood ornament is CREEPY looking like some alien…not that there’s anything wrong with that, since the Pentagon has now declared them as REAL!

      • Vicky says:

        I agree. That hood ornament is creepy. I can’t watch it, and “let’s make lots of money” doesn’t appeal to me, either. What’s the message and what does that have to do with insurance?

    • Matt says:

      Agreed

    • John Herman says:

      No seat belt? Making jest of a handicapped person?

      • Christine says:

        check it out : from 0:17- 0:21 and you can see the seat belt!!!!

      • E. MAREK says:

        The driver clearly has a seat belt on, especially visible as the chorus starts “Ohh, there’s a lot of opportunities… “

    • judy says:

      i want to know the words they’re saying…

    • Cheryl Jones says:

      This commercial is so cool! I love the hood ornament as she is jammin! I’m a 61 year old woman who searched the internet for the words. My husband and I just love it. Great Job Allstate!

    • Sharon Ashby says:

      I love this commercial. I had to find out who the singing hood ornament was. Great Commercial. Makes me smile.

    • Edward Pugh says:

      super annoying ,even when drinking, hank god for Geico lizard
      Progressive wise idiot is just as bad
      don’t they test these things

    • Bill says:

      Courtney Jenaé is the singer and hood ornament. Not Lesley McKinnell!! Not sure why there was ever a mix up!

      • joshw24 says:

        I just found her Instagram and you’re right! Thanks for the info…I updated the post.

    • Barbara Ann Kalena says:

      This is the ONLY commercial on tv I actually look forward to hearing and singing along with no matter what time of day or night it’s on. Devere and Courtney get me hoppin’ with that tune.

      • Christine meyers says:

        I agree with you me and my friends. Love this commercial we look forward to it. It helps moods. And we are in our. 70,s. Thank you so much we never find this boring ever. Thank u again it,s really thrilling all over your body. Thanks

    • Reggie Springer says:

      This my favorite commercial! His is so expressive as he sings! The hood ornamentµ Sings so well too! The graphics with the the sparking gloss are impressive! Love this!Please make an extended version!
      Reggie Springer

    • Kathleen says:

      My husband and I don’t watch commercials, but one night we caught the tail end of the Allstate commercial featuring Devere Rogers. We had never heard of him before but we were enchanted by his voice and his huge and beautiful smile. We are now pretty much addicted to the song and to Devere. He needs to be cast in every movie, show, commercial, etc. Just seeing him makes us smile.
      I hate commercials and tune them out completely. But not this one.

  2. Jason Kostrzewa says:

    I wanna know who voiced the hood ornament

  3. Steven Downey says:

    The hood ornament reminds me of the female android on raised by wolves.

  4. Sue Johnson says:

    Great commercial! It’s a “sing along”! Love it!!!!

  5. Gregory Kelley says:

    The man’s name is Devere Rogers

  6. Andrea D Smernoff says:

    Hate it. Gives me the creeps.

  7. Pamela Freeman says:

    Who is singing the female part coming from the hood ornament ?

    • Jacqueline Woodall says:

      Tom Blanz on March 29, 2021 at 11:25 pm
      Cast
      Dennis Haysbert … Voice Over
      Devere Rogers … Driver
      Lesley McKinnell … Hood Ornament Singing Voice

      Song: Opportunities (Let’s Make Lots of Money)
      Performed by: Pet Shop Boys

  8. fuck off says:

    I really fucking hate this ad

  9. You are not answering the question about who is the woman singing on the hood ornament in the Allstate commercial. I just want to know who is singing the Duet?

  10. Kevin L. Stewart says:

    I can’t prove it, but the female voice sounds like Jody Ellen, formerly of the group Abney Park.

  11. Shalyn Winsett says:

    I LOVE this commercial!! I’ve shared it with my grand kids, and they love it to!!
    Very catchy!! 😁

  12. Mary goldman says:

    Great music & driver. Do friendly

  13. Mary goldman says:

    Great music & driver. So friendly

  14. Deanna says:

    I love this commercial. makes me smile and makes me want to dance. Make it longer!

  15. John Garten says:

    Who is the hood ornament singing?

  16. Sherry Baker says:

    Love that commercial…brings a smile to my face and joy to my heart!

  17. MaryBeth Gagnier says:

    This is a very creepy commercial. Hood ornament animation strange and creepy!

  18. June Harris says:

    ZI love this commercial…the singing is awesome. Please make an extended version of this song with the driver and “hood ornament”.

  19. Cheryl MacPhee says:

    I think the new Allstate ad is great ! enjoy the music and singers the driver is great!

  20. Nancy Farndell says:

    Love this commercial ,
    so up beat. But I too would like to know who is the singing ornament.

  21. Bert says:

    This commercial gives me the creeps. My mother commented the exact same way; creepy!

    • Pat Klees says:

      I agree. Awful commercial. Money grubbers. Let’s make lots of money? ARE does that have to do with car insurance?

  22. Shelton Dave says:

    Nothing Under the Sun is ever new:

  23. Sharon says:

    Can I buy an Allstate hood ornament

  24. Bob over says:

    They play this commercial at least 50 times a day! WHY? I HAVE NEVER IN MY LIFE SEEN A COMMERCIAL PLAYED SO MUCH!! ONE THING IS FOR SURE I WILL NEVER USE ALLSTATE..

  25. Ursula says:

    I hate this commercial! Stupid…

    • Cheryl Benthall says:

      I’m tired of the on evil representation of caucasians in all ads on TV especially Insurance commercial

      • Jackie Johnson says:

        Are you kidding right now?? This has nothing to do with race. Why are you taking it there? A young guy is happy saving money on his car insurance, singing as he drives through the Desert. You need to examine your motive for making that statement. Yes the ornament is strange but it’s a fun commercial life even kids love. I’m 66 and I enjoy it . Get over it. There always has to be a Debbie Downer. It’s a commercial, not real like. I can’t believe how childish this is.

      • Jackie Johnson says:

        Are you kidding right now?? This has nothing to do with race. Why are you taking it there? A young guy is happy saving money on his car insurance, singing as he drives through the Desert. You need to examine your motive for making that statement. Yes the ornament is strange but it’s a fun commercial life even kids love. I’m 66 and I enjoy it . Get over it. There always has to be a Debbie Downer. It’s a commercial, not real like. I can’t believe how childish this is.

  26. Dan Hanley says:

    It’s a ridiculous , silly and senseless commercial. I change channels when it comes on.

  27. Katie says:

    Yes, I love this upbeat and fun commercial. Makes me happy I’m insured with Allstate.

  28. Cheryl Benthall says:

    I am very concerned with why the under-representation of the white Caucasian male in all ads on TV especially Insurance commercial ads

  29. I also detest commercial but once in a while I am surprised by a cool one. This one with the guy in the car, and the female car hood ornament both singing is great!! I love this duet! I tried to find the long version of it but it’s only a short one. I want so much to have this rendition in my music library.
    Please, make a full version.

  30. annoyed says:

    This commercial is awful. It’s also played on literally every commercial break. Anything played that often is just annoying, but this commercial was dumb from the get go… Why? Because of the hood ornament. It’s smiling as it sings… Have you ever tried singing while smiling big like the hood ornament is? It’s possible, but you sound really weird. Plus there’s no point to the hood ornament singing at all… Other than to show you can use CGI? I like commercials that are actually funny or ones that are grounded in reality… Or even ones that are completely fantastical. This one is just annoying and pointless. I’m honestly surprised anyone likes it at all. It should be trashed.

  31. Cheryl Benthall says:

    I’m getting sick of all these Insurance ads featuring African-American what happened did all the white Caucasian men die or did we just canceled them out

    • joshw24 says:

      So you’re a snowflake then, Cheryl?

      • Cheryl Benthall says:

        I would rather be called a racist by a Democrat then be called a Democrat!,
        To anger a conservative lie to him but to anger a liberal is to tell them the truth!

      • joshw24 says:

        Considering the current state of the Republican Party, you must be angry all the time.

    • Dennis says:

      Agree! And for the longest time I didn’t care what they were advertising!

      And have you noticed that almost EVERY depiction of mixed race couples is a black man and white woman? Any black women out there could be offended!

  32. Karen says:

    Lesley McKinnell is the ornament singer!

  33. Karen N says:

    Lesley McKinnell ornament singer

  34. Cute concept. My only beef is that the hood ornament mispronounces the word “brawn” as “brine”. This one little thing irritates the bejesus out of me.

    • psp92637 says:

      I noticed that as well – wondering if the term “brawn” has some kind of a negative connotation that the producers were concerned about…..

    • Thomas A Csonka says:

      The first time I seen this commercial it was Brine not Brawn. We have the captions on and was wondering why it was changed. I liked Brine better, he is worth his salt.

  35. Cheryl Benthall says:

    I’m not affiliated to either party I just play the stock market where it makes me money and thanks for Donald Trump he made me quite rich as well Joe Biden but this time I’m short selling stock we know where this economy is going it going to be a Biden Train wreck

  36. Addie Brewster Billingsley says:

    I found the commercial very degrading: the hood ornament is smarter than the driver?

  37. John moyer says:

    What year and car is the singing hood ornament from?

  38. Dawn M DiCenso says:

    This whole idea is very familiar to me. A music video or car commercial, from the 1990’s or late1980’s with a singing car hood ornament. Very familiar!

  39. Hanna says:

    I LOVE this commercial! He looks like my grandson. The song is so catchy!!!

  40. James Z says:

    Hello, to whom it may concern…the ornament vocalist is Courtney Jenae. I would know, we hired her to sing on this spot. Just want to make sure the right information is being posted.

    Thank you.

    James Z

  41. J. Graham says:

    Please make it an extended release. It is a total hook. Ear worm plus. Yes it has its detractors but they are the same ones who would have told Mom to send It back when sensing how pleased parents were with new child. It would be golden.

  42. Alton Jones Jr says:

    Almost as good as the grubhub commercials!! Fine work!!

  43. Ejchi says:

    I do not like the commercial due to the original song sounds better to me.

  44. Hannah Luz says:

    my nana loves this commercial so much that if we talk during it, she starts it over and keeps doing it until we can get completely through it without talking😂

  45. Janine says:

    I love this commercial! This man has the most beautiful smile, and seems to love life!
    I used to have Allstate…until my rates kept raising…but good job on this commercial!

  46. Pamela Pagan says:

    I love the new Allstate ad that takes place in the car . It should be even longer

  47. Liz shanti says:

    I love the young man singing Opportunities. The hood ornament, the duet is GREAT.
    I’m a 72 year old woman and I just want to give him a big hug he is so cute. The most beautiful friendly face

  48. Car Correction says:

    For anyone that is curious about the car, it’s not a BMW 435i. The car in the commercial is too short and missing the fender vents that come on the 4 series. The car is more likely a 2016 BMW 230i Cabriolet non M Performance model. Cheers!

  49. Carol roberts says:

    That young mans voice is wonderful!! Love the commercial.

  50. PJ says:

    In one word: CREEPY!

  51. Nancy McEntire says:

    Greatest ad. Very realistic, good voices and personality.

  52. Hale says:

    This is without a doubt my favorite Allstate insurance commercial … I love it! Hands down my favorite !

  53. Jennifer Mons Spruce says:

    For some odd reason, this commercial is freaky to me.

  54. Kathleen Edwards says:

    I would love to own such a hood ornament

  55. Catherine Hood-Gause says:

    I would absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE the extended version of this song that would include Leslie McKinnell and Dennis Haysbert. I would buy this song and download it. Leslie did an excellent job providing the hook to this old song and breathe life into it. ❤️🥰

  56. Sharyn Wallace says:

    I love the commercial. I love the upbeat song. I stop everytime it comes on to sing along with it.

  57. LauraLea says:

    Love this commercial! Driver and hood ornament look like they are truly enjoying the day/drive. Can’t get this song out of my head🙂

  58. Mary Chandler says:

    I absolutely love this commercial!! It’s not often I say I love commercials but this one makes me come running into the living room to watch. I hope to see more like this. Well done!!!

  59. I love this commercial, keep bringing more by him to

  60. Jerry Meyers says:

    The only insurance commercials I hate more than this one are the ones with Flo or the Liberty Mutual ones on the river overlook. By the way if you have Liberty Mutual coverage, do yourself a favor and get a competitive quote from another company.

  61. Christine says:

    I think it’s extremely creepy and I’m not sure I feel good about the woman’s stuck on the hood ornament her singing it’s just weird very very weird

  62. Darlene Chandler says:

    I just love this commercial 💕💕💕💕💕💕

  63. Barbara Nelson says:

    I love the Allstate commercial. I don’t think its creepy at all. I would love to have a hood ornament like that.

  64. Sharon Davis says:

    i don’t like commercials I zap them but not Allstate I like the song

  65. Melissa Stapleford says:

    God I hope they don’t make an extended version! This is such a creepy ad!! That hood ornament is enough to give me nightmares! Hope this campaign ends soon. It definitely does NOT make me want to switch to Allstate insurance, just the opposite! Totally turns me off to them

  66. Lynn Anderson says:

    Love this commercial. The guy is so cute & has such a beautiful smile. And I love the music. Then it goes to the hideous hood ornament. She is the stuff of nightmares. Why? I certainly wouldn’t have a hood ornament on my car that looked like that!! It ruins the whole commercial. It is such a great concept. Surely, with today’s technology, they could have come up with something more appealing. I can no longer watch the whole commercial.

  67. Jane Hole says:

    Please tell me the words to the jingle they are singing

  68. BC says:

    Thank you Allstate. Best commercial. This last year and half left little to smile about. When I first saw this I smiled and felt a renewed zest for going forward in life with hope like the young man driving that blue car. It affected me in a positive way. Some people look at it as a commercial and some of us see so much more. Thank you. Happy SMILES

  69. Da Man says:

    I hate this commercial. They also play it too much. Plus he is saving money, not “makin lotsa money”

  70. Sharon J Ellis says:

    Love this commercial!
    Fun and upbeat. More please.

  71. Cheryl Norris says:

    What is the hood emblem from? Thanks

  72. Judith Kennedy says:

    I 💕 the ad with Devere Rogers, but can’t quite get all the words to the 2nd part when he puts his arm out.

  73. Susette Lawrence says:

    I want to know if this hood ornament has ever been on older cars . I could swear I saw this hood ornament on a very old mercury

  74. Barbara L. Riley says:

    I, too wold like an extended version of this commercial. I usually fast forward through commercials but this one I stop and back up for. I love it!!!

  75. Mark Noel says:

    This commercial makes me sick

  76. Rich P says:

    Love this commercial to pieces!
    The driver and his high top fade haircut reminds me of myself in the 90’s, cruising the streets & roads of Dallas in my opened sunroof red 3000GT jamming to the Pet Shop Boys!

  77. Rob says:

    Does anyone know the filming location? Looks like San Bernardino County, CA between Baker and LS Vegas

  78. Jody says:

    Hate this commercial. I turn the channel as soon as it comes on. Very creepy dumb*** hood ornament. Stupid song.

  79. Wanda says:

    I love this commercial. I don’t get the folks that hate it. Just change channels if it annoys you that much! Much better than ALL Liberty Mutual ‘s idiotic Limu Emu crap!

  80. Jackie Jeffery says:

    Love the song. I will stop whatever I’m doing to watch commercial. Love the song and the singers. Would be great if they could record the whole song!🥰

  81. Helen R Brittman says:

    Had this been a young Caucasian young man there would not be any negatives. How is this creepy? It’s like other animated characters. Haters !!! So sad!

  82. Cheryl Shepard says:

    I can hardly believe that Allstate paid someone for coming up with the stupid idea that an inanimate object such as a hood ornament can come to life and sing!!!! Please get rid of this commercial!!!! Enough already!!!

  83. Cathy O'kelley says:

    Please! Get rid of the commercial with the silver hood mount singing!!!!!
    It’s gross!!!!!!

  84. Cheryl Shepard says:

    Once again, I sit down to enjoy a little TV and I get bombarded with idiotic commercials of a man driving along singing to the radio, when the inanimate hood ornament suddenly comes to life and starts singing!!!! Come on! We have been seeing this STUPID commercial forever!!! Hood ornaments cannot come to life and sing!!!! It is way past time to bury this stupid commercial! Enough already!!!!

  85. JW Mlan says:

    The hood ornaments got the brains and he’s got the brawn what’s with that

  86. Marcus Schachter says:

    The duet in the desert commercial is swirling propaganda but plausable deniability will win again.

  87. Dennis Coley says:

    I hate this commercial. We have to watch it 4 or 5 hundred times a day.

  88. Ran says:

    This is the best commercial on tv right now. I love it. Every time it come on I start singing it. Great job!

  89. dab says:

    What!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t believe all the haters. This is one of the greatest commercials of all time! Great relaxed imagery, fantastic music from the past. Had to add this song to my running play list. This commercial is a fun piece of creative art1

  90. Bev R says:

    Greatest commercial ever💕I’m 76 and it makes me dance and sing.

  91. Dave says:

    I love this ad, but I think this video is just a parody of the original ad. Does anyone have any videos of the original unedited ad? Thank you! -Dave

  92. Anne Robinson says:

    Best ad of the Year. I love it. Please keep showing it.

Leave a comment