The University of Phoenix Says Success Takes More Than Brains

So the song, performed by Roarke and based on The Wizard of Oz‘s “If I Only Had a Brain“, is pretty annoying (though check out some of her other stuff, it’s solid). And the University of Phoenix has a quite a spotty reputation. But I dunno, there’s something nice about this commercial showing UofP students grinding at their schoolwork to try to make a better life for themselves and their families. We can debate the last student shooing away the security guard at library closing time. Should we applaud her dedication or denounce her disregard of the poor security guard? You know, he’s probably got a family too.

About joshw24
30 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

13 Responses to The University of Phoenix Says Success Takes More Than Brains

  1. Bill says:

    In my opinion, this is the most annoying commercial thus far in 2016. The singer’s voice is excruciating and the pretention in the video is palpable. Support your local community college as opposed to this pyramid scheme online university. Ha.

  2. Sharon says:

    I also find this commercial as annoying ,insulting and sad.

  3. Kellie says:

    This commercial is absolutely annoying and is quite creepy when you’re home alone. I literally have to change the channel evry time it comes on! Please make it stop!!!!!!

  4. pat says:

    Hate the singer, the words ,the “students” . I have to mute the television. I don’t know of any HR manager impressed by a university of Phoenix degree – they toss out those resumes first

  5. Shanae says:

    This commercial is starting to cause me psychological distress. I have to change the channel or turn off the tv for it not to be stuck in my head for the whole day. Make it stop!!!

  6. Kimberly says:

    I understand where the meaning of the commercial, and I do think the song is catchy. The meaning of the video, is really saying that there are so many people out there, working jobs, to be able to pay off their bills, and pay their tuition every semester. Also plenty of people who spend their nights studying to earn good grades. And really, that’s all they are showcasing or highlighting in their commercial. As a current college student of a community college, I understand all of those struggles. Even if I’m not going through them, I meet so many people who are doing that. And I really admire them.

  7. freezy says:

    I hate the jingle. If you had a brain, you would know you were wasting your money on a cracker jack toy education. You would also know how shady financially uofp is. I hate only one other organization more…. Kars4kids. Real charities don’t have 5 commercials per hour during drive time on every major radio station in America. And another vomit inducing jingle.

  8. Jean says:

    I love it, well done and creative. I agree with Kimberly….you don’t know the struggle of working toward getting your degree until you are working full time with a family as many are. It’s easy to sit back and judge. In terms of advertising success……positive and negative comments make it successful, just like the Khardasians

  9. Dirk Diggler says:

    If I shit in a box, and put it on TV it would be twice as good as this fucking terrible piece of shit commercial.

    • Tina says:

      I get it, education yatta yatta yatta. Pleas stop the effen commercial. I’m so sick of the same pseudo raspy voice thing. I totally agree!

  10. Tourbillon360 says:

    I actually DO have a pretty powerful brain. Most people can’t see through the tricky language, but here’s the gist of what’s actually occurring in the commercial… University of Phoenix is pretending to be appealing to employers to hire people with all this personal baggage… bunch of kids, gun shot wounds, etc. What they’re REALLY doing is attempting to encourage lower income people who have struggled through life, to give University of Phoenix what little money they have. A degree is a degree? Technically accurate statement… But they don’t tell you that a degree from Harvard will be perceived much differently than UofP degree. To me, this is predatory advertising… Attempting to go after single mothers who are struggling and have already proven that they probably aren’t legitimate college material. As an employer myself, the end of the commercial is a big turn off… Attempting to cause me to infer that I am dumb if I choose not to hire somebody with a UofP degree? Again, that’s just deception, but it is still insulting.

Leave a Reply

