Stand Out With The 2016 Nissan Altima

It’s a pretty sharp Nissan Altima commercial featuring sleek skyline views and a voiceover about standing out that’s supplemented by flashbacks with scenes of nonconformity. I don’t know that the Nissan Altima stands out when it’s quite a popular car, but I digress. This spot has really gotten attention for its unique and mysterious music. Nobody quite seems to know what the song is. Best I can tell, it’s “Marigold” by the Foo Fighters (also recorded by Nirvana), possibly layered with a little “Where Is My Mind?” from the Pixies. If I get a definitive answer, I’ll update this post. As for the Rashida Jones-esque woman in the ad, that’s Brook Power.

Update: The song was specifically created for this commercial by a music house and it isn’t part of a full track. So that’s kinda disappointing.

About joshw24
30 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

17 Responses to Stand Out With The 2016 Nissan Altima

  1. Ridwah says:

    It sounds to me like they didnt want to pay for the song rights to “Where Is My Mind” and decided to rip it off. It’s way too similar to be a coincidence and it annoys me every time I hear it.

  2. I am quite sure it is re-composed from the Scottish band “Mogwai” track called Hunted by a freak.
    Nice, haunting progression.

  3. John doe says:

    It’s darling Nikki, foo fighters

  4. Jack Gough says:

    what was the name of the music house?

  5. Abdul says:

    It’s “Come on Eileen” by Jackson 5

  6. Definitely hear Grohl’s Marigold in there. Glad to see someone else hears it too.

  7. Shan says:

    I immediately heard Prince, Darling Nikki 😊

  8. grundlesmith says:

    Thanks for doing the research, I was curious too. It’s definitely the riff from Marigold, too bad this cover wasn’t complete

  9. Ha! Spot on, sampled from both Good and Pixies! Where are the royalties?

Leave a Reply

