Tuesday Throwback: Sprite Cools Down Summer Hoops

And we’re back! I thought about this commercial today as I was drinking a can of Sprite. I’ve already written about a Sprite commercial on Tuesday Throwback, so I guess they have really memorable retro ads. Anyway, I think I remember this one playing a lot in the summer. ’06-07 maybe? It says it was uploaded in October 2006, so that might be right. I really like the visuals. You can totally see the sweltering summer sun and heat in that urban basketball court. I hope that’s water they’re jumping into, not Sprite. That would be sticky. Of course, the commercial is made by the chill, smooth song. It’s “Falling Away” by Hugh Wilson. I always thought it was “Falling Awake” (i.e. I’m falling awake with you), but apparently not.

About joshw24
30 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

Leave a Reply

