Google’s Mark Potter Needs To Let Go And Move On

I like most of Google’s commercials. They’re always sentimental, but they do a great job of showing the sometimes overlooked roles that Google plays in modern life. But this one for Google Chrome is just awkward and creepy. Some might think Mark Potter’s attempt to win back his old girlfriend is sweet, but it fails on a number of levels for me. It comes across as too private…dredging through personal events in their relationship. Why did he document so much of their relationship anyway? At the same time, broadcasting his desperate message to the whole world looks as lame as a Jumbotron marriage proposal. So…how about that coffee? Not this time, Google. And in case you were wondering, the song is “Porch Song” by The Meemies.

6/25 update: Heh, here’s Jen’s spoof response created by UCBComedy. Good stuff.

About joshw24
30 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

22 Responses to Google’s Mark Potter Needs To Let Go And Move On

  1. TK says:

    you sound a little bitter:(

    • joshw24 says:

      Hahaha. Maybe a little bit, but it’s still a lame video.

      • sauna says:

        I doubt you would have the capacity to make a video for an ex-lover, or even the passion since you are really trying to hate on this commercial. Maybe if you found love you’d understand how hard it is to let go. I’d suggest you place this negativity on maybe commercials that actually do suck, like education connection, seems more up your alley

  2. BrandonD says:

    You are bitter and likely have baggage near that of the commercials message. My wife was nearly in tears over that commercial. The failure is in your brain.

  3. Tiffany says:

    I’m a female and I thought the commerical was sweet on Mark’s part. It is really so romantic that he documented so much about their relationship. It shows that men value the little things like that in relationships like us girls.

    I almost feel like the writer of this blog is a hater because he couldn’t in 100 years come up with such a thoughtful gesture.

  4. This is such a sweet commercial. If the guy I love did this for me, I’d never leave him.

  5. Crinklish says:

    You’re not alone! I think it’s kind of stalkery, too–and if they had such a wonderful romantic relationship the first go-round, why did he spend all his time at work?

  6. Mike Z says:

    This reminds me of that post that was making its rounds around the Web a few months back where a guy walked around the subway with a picture of his ex-girlfriend around his neck on a board, and asked people to help him win her back.

    I’m sorry, this is not funny or cute. It might be cute in a rom-com, but in real life, it can be horrifying. Even if they are together in real life, this is still really off-putting and a harmful thing to make into a commercial. What is it with some guys that they just can’t let go? The internet is not your relationship crisis helpline.

  7. Joye says:

    Where did it say this was a real situation and not just a made up marketing couple?

  8. Marine96 says:

    It all depends on the woman if she really is “a good sport” then maybe she will take it as he intended. As for me if it is real the guy gets an A for effort but a B+ for potential to be a stalker !

  9. andieatscandy says:

    i think this commerical is really sweet. the fact thats its personalized and not like “oh ily, we’ve had great times, blah blah blah, etc. etc.”… instead it showed really specific moments, and very endearing moments. I thought it was one of their best commericals yet.

  10. Delenda J. says:

    i thought it was a good commercial, but, i did hear it was real, i wouldn’t be okay if it had been my relationship put as a commercial. i hate commercials for all they are and i think that this was one of the good ones. the romantic part is what you should see, not the ‘potential stalker’. he really cares and he’s good at advertising. though, he may be advertising more to females and soft, married guys.

  11. Sharon says:

    I absolutely LOVED that commercial…just saw it for the first time and thought it was great! If it’s a true story I really hope the girl takes him back! Talk about sweet. If it’s just a commercial, I think that with was excellent idea. For the guy who didn’t like it -DON’T HATE………..

  12. Rachel says:

    I liked the video. If it’s real, it shows that he did genuinely realize he cared for her, and that he knew he needed to put in effort and some thought to win her back. Girls love to be pursued.

  13. Kim says:

    I had never even seen this commercial until today. I sent my ex a text last night and we talked for a few about something general (we are still on good terms and friends but haven’t been close for a while). Today I sent him something and he responded back with this commercial and asked if I had seen it. Immediately upon watching, I cried. It was really like watching our relationship and the fallout of it (we were friends prior to dating and because of us breaking up stopped communication for a while to get over it). Google hit the emotions to probably every relationship out there that is over that ended for all the wrong reasons. Sometimes, people need to break up to see what they had. My ex and I aren’t meeting for coffee, and he didn’t ask to get back together, but I also know now that he was sorry for his part in us breaking up and misses me. That helps. Even if it was a true story, then she might say “no” she’ll at least know that he feels something about her that will help in the healing process.

    As far as the guy commenting about this, maybe you never have loved and lost but when you’re time comes, you might feel a little more compelled to open to this commercial. And as far as it being “creepy” that he documented so much of their relationship, that’s what real couples do. My ex hated pictures, but I have them (8 years worth). I could map all of “our” places and tell you where we were when breaking up. When you love someone, you know these things.

  14. David Fox says:

    I love it. I wish I had the balls to do the same thing. After a year I still think about her every day.

  15. Wil says:

    Yeah, marks a creeper straight up stage 5 clinger

    • Robin says:

      You’re generalizing. There isn’t a way to tell if he’s a creeper just by a video. He might be, but he could be a smart guy who realized he lost a good thing. She may have missed him just as much and loved the video.

      By the way, did anyone hear if this video is true or fake?

  16. lol sounds like you’re butthurt

Leave a Reply

