Gillette Claims A Single ProGlide Cartridge Can Last 5 Weeks

It’s a pretty commercial…I appreciate the spirit of travel and adventure. I have a Gillette Fusion ProGlide, and it’s the best razor I’ve owned. But 5 weeks for a single cartridge? I’m quite doubtful, especially if you’re like the majority of people who shave every 1-3 days. Maybe this guy (Brandon Quinn from Big Wolf on Campus) didn’t shave often because he was too busy traveling. The “up to” term can be used trickily. Perhaps I’ll try using a single cartridge for 5 weeks, but I don’t know if I want to risk cutting my delicate face.

About joshw24
30 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

4 Responses to Gillette Claims A Single ProGlide Cartridge Can Last 5 Weeks

  1. Bob G says:

    Ugh, then why is my blue strip (designed to tell you when to change blades) wearing out after 3 shaves? No one will believe this!

    • The razor dude says:

      The blue strip wears out, changes the angle of which the blades hits your face and makes it feel like your razor is dull, even though it is the same sharpness it was before the strip was there, but now the angle which the razor hits your skin is at an uncomfortable place…

  2. I tried the Fusion when it first came out and I thought it was horrible. I think the blades lasted about 2 weeks and my beard isn’t that thick. I have been using the Mach 3 since 1999 and I’ve been able to push a blade to about 3 months with regular cleaning and keeping it dry. I haven’t had those results in some time. Not sure if the blades are getting cheaper or my face is less resistant but I still get those blades to 5 weeks regularly.

  3. Aaron L. says:

    Try an old Gillette double-edge razor. Built to last forever and blades are around .10 cents each

Leave a Reply

