The 2011 Joshys: Part I

2011 is soon coming to a close, and that means year-end lists and countdowns. So I’ve decided to introduce my own awards: The Joshys. The only real parameter is that everything has to be something I’ve covered on this blog. Rather than doing a generic best/worst list, I’ve come up with some more eclectic awards. Here goes.

Campaign of the Year: Chrysler’s “Imported From Detroit”

I decided to skip picking a commercial of the year, because that’s something that can be hard to quantify. Choosing a campaign gives more room to evaluate than a single 30/60 second spot. An awesome campaign all around…writing, visuals, tagline, and overall spirit. It started at the Super Bowl with Eminem and kept on during the year.

Honorable mention: State Farm’s “State Ofcampaign and Geico’s “Easier Way To Savecampaign

Fierce competitors, these campaigns both were shown at the same time, and frequently during the same commercial breaks. Humorous and amusing.

The Houston Van Gogh Award: These commercials were so annoying that they made me want to gouge my eyes out and/or cut my ear off. Or at least change the channel.

Winner (loser?): NAPA Know How

This was shown endlessly during March Madness and throughout the spring, and has gained a new life during football season. I hate it, and I also hate that the song is so catchy.

Dishonorable mention: 5-hour Energy’s Fix the Tired

Honestly, it was a coin flip between NAPA and 5-hour Energy. The 5-hour Energy spot was shown ad nauseum during Cincinnati Reds games, where the same 10 or so commercials were aired for 6 months straight.

The Beautiful Award: Most beautiful visuals in an ad

Winner: STA Travel Australia

All three spots are beautiful, though I think “Move” is the best. Just awesome.

Honorable mentions: Blue Moon Seasonals: Pretty animation showcases the seasons and the Blue Moon offerings that go along with them.

Intel’s Most Amazing Thing: Maybe not the most amazing thing I ever saw, but pretty great.

The Boner Award: Sexiest commercial of the year

Winner: SoBe and Kate Upton

Not even close here. The past summer was one of the hottest on record in America. Mostly because of the sizzling temperatures, but also in part due to this hot commercial starring supermodel Kate Upton. As for its effectiveness…I still probably won’t buy SoBe stuff, but I now associate their products with Kate Upton’s boobs. That’s good, right?

The Explosions In The Sky Award: The most epic of 2011. These spots made everything seem more important, whether I was tooling around on Facebook or lying on the couch scratching myself.

Winner: British Airways “To Fly. To Serve.”

If I was awarding a “best commercial”, this would be a strong contender. Everything works here. Truly epic (and probably with an epic budget to match).

Honorable mention: Jim Beam’s Bold Choice: Willem Dafoe helps this spot become more epic. Award-winning too.

Well, that’s Part I. Stay tuned for Parts II and III.

About joshw24
30 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

Leave a Reply

