DirecTV WILL Cause You To Act Irrationally

“If the son is stupid enough to cheer at being handed DirecTV and not what the gold digger woman gets, he doesn’t deserve to run the dead guy’s company…”

Yeah, that’s probably right. This DirecTV commercial isn’t new…it was aired constantly during the winter/spring earlier this year. But now it’s being run again. Mostly because it’s quite amusing. Possibly because Angel is a really hot gold digger. I love Chauncey’s over-the-top reaction. It also reminds me of something from my past. Story time!

When I was in 4th grade, I got really into acting. I would audition for commercials all the time through the rest of elementary school. One of those was for a regional department store. I was given the direction to act “really excited”. So I responded by jumping up and down, shouting, and taking off my shirt and waving it around. My reaction was much like Chauncey’s. I totally let myself go, way more than the average 11 year old would. And I didn’t even get a callback. Maybe they thought I was too crazy. But every time I see this commercial, I think about what could have been. Sigh…

About joshw24
30 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

Leave a Reply

