State Farm’s Sweet & Sarcastic State Of Nostalgia

Let’s talk about life insurance. An industry that could be called “death insurance” if they were really being honest. An industry where they want everyone to have a long, long life and not necessarily for the most altruistic reasons. Now I’m not bashing life insurance. It’s a great thing to have if you’re married and/or have children so in case you get killed by a bear, hit by a blimp, or more likely die from mundane and natural causes, your loved ones will be taken care of. It can also be tricky to advertise, considering what it actually is. But when insurance companies such as New York Life suggest that a life insurance policy is a swell birthday/anniversary gift, that just strikes me as odd. Maybe it’s because I’m a single 25 year old but I’m imagining a conversation like this:

Me: Babe, happy birthday/anniversary! I took out a life insurance policy on myself! Now I’m not planning on dying soon, but in the occasion that I do…

My hot wife: Josh, get me a REAL present.

I wondered if that was just my perception, but after talking to my married brother, he agreed that the conversation might go like that. And here’s a ghoulish life insurance related tidbit. I once read (don’t remember where, so I’m not citing it) that up to 10% of fatal car accidents might in fact be suicides. What’s going on? Well, for obvious reasons insurance doesn’t pay out for suicides. But with a car wreck, it can be very difficult to determine intent, even with the help of accident reconstructionists. So in those cases, the policy is honored.

This all brings me to a new commercial by State Farm. It’s another spot in the witty “State Of” campaign, created by DDB Chicago.

Very smart. With the nostalgic tone and sad music, you think that the woman is talking about her late husband Hank. Then she thanks Hank, and he unexpectedly walks by and responds with a “you’re welcome.” Ha! So State Farm has living benefits. That’s useful information.

Bonus video: The State Farm “State of Chaos” commercial. It’s on all the time, but I’ve never actually written about it on here.

About joshw24
30 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

Leave a Reply

