Hate Mail? Sweet!

“Your blog makes me sick. All it does is further encourage people to be consumerist sheep. You’re the type of person that’s destroying America. Visit Adbusters for the truth!” -KP

Dear KP,

Thanks for reading my blog. This is actually the first negative comment I’ve had, and it actually somewhat honors me that you’d be willing to take the time to write it. It makes me feel more legitimate.

I don’t think Commercial Society “further encourages people to be consumerist sheep”. Seeing that you name-dropped Adbusters, I take it that you’re not such a fan of consumerism. All I’m talking about is advertising I like and dislike, and examples that I find to be effective or ineffective. I never actually TELL anyone to buy anything. It’s just something that interests me. Maybe you have interests and could start a blog. Could be about anything….squatting, freeganism, anti-consumerism…just something that you’re passionate about. I also disagree with your assertion that I’m “destroying America”. If you really believe America is being destroyed, it’s probably a little more complex than blaming me, an underemployed 25 year old with a WordPress blog. But that’s part of the beauty of America and the free world. It’s great that you can speak your mind without the fear of the government tracking you down and killing you. Isn’t that great?

Finally, a few pieces of advice for you, KP. It’s never prudent (look up that word if you don’t know it) to ignore the problems of the world. If you see a problem, try to do something to fix it. But at the same time, life is a lot less enjoyable when you’re pissed off all the time.

All the best,
Josh

About joshw24
30 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

Leave a Reply

