Target’s New Back To School Commercials

Last year, Target had an obnoxious (and obnoxiously catchy) back to school campaign that I just hated. This time around, I like Target’s ads a lot more. They show kids in typical school situations with instrumental backing of famous songs like Queen’s “Under Pressure” and “Another One Bites the Dust” , Outkast’s “Hey Ya”, and the Rocky theme. I actually saw another one featuring Salt-N-Pepa’s “Push It”, and I can’t find that one online now. Maybe some prudes objected to a song so blatantly about sex being used in a back to school campaign. Anyway, these should be on a lot in the upcoming weeks, so I’m glad that I kind of like them.

 

About joshw24
28 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

4 Responses to Target’s New Back To School Commercials

  1. I love this. When I saw these adds I was simultaneously thrilled of the great use of Queen music and disappointed that when I was teaching Elementary school music I didn’t have the thought to use Queen songs as Recorder repertoire……..

  2. Cassandra Roy says:

    I love all of the BTS ads by Target. I can just imagine the creators smiling as they thought of the concepts. And as a lifelong educator these commercials are the truth about kids. Thanks Target for making me laugh.

  3. Brian says:

    “Another One Bites the Dust” is about a gunman shooting innocent people. Good choice for a back to school ad?

  4. kimberly says:

    not too crazy about the target commercials.they wasted all that money using artists music to make the commercials and i just didnt like them. i shopped at burlington for back to school and got everything i needed and more and they didnt waste alot of money to make the commercials i saw.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

