Dish Network’s Hopper And Obnoxious Boston Accents

I went to college in the Boston area. It’s a great place. But there’s one thing I don’t miss…

I don’t know what’s more annoying: the actual accents or people imitating them (“pahk the cah in Hahvahd Yahd.”) Gahh. Dish Network also has a Hopper ad featuring frequent Commercial Society actress Allyn Rachel. Jumping out of a moving car is a bad idea.

About joshw24
28 year old guy. Into sports, pop culture, advertising, and trivia among other things.

48 Responses to Dish Network’s Hopper And Obnoxious Boston Accents

  1. Kaylah says:

    I’m not a big fan of the first commercial, but I definitely think the second one is a bit better. Yeah, jumping out of a moving car isn’t the best of ideas lol, but it’s still pretty funny. Are you a DISH customer? If so, have you tried out a Hopper? I haven’t had mine installed just yet, but after seeing what it could do a couple weeks ago at work with DISH, am excited to finally get it installed this Monday. I’m looking forward to the PrimeTime Anytime feature and putting the 2 terabyte hard drive into good use. It’s going to make my family very happy! :)

    • catherine pansey says:

      I grew up in a working class Boston neighborhood, and find these commercials WICKED FUNNY.

      • Scorp says:

        Exactly Catherine Pansey….I was born and raised here and for those idiots who say we’re annoying bla bla bla. I thought your post here was wicked f”in cool!!! :o)

      • Andrea says:

        I live in CT and these commercials are hilarious – they would still be funny without the Boston accent but it really makes it better!

      • Shauna says:

        @ Andrea I wanna get a Hoppa too. But was reluctant. Reviews?

      • Greg says:

        I live in Georgia and I find these commercials extremely funny! Of course, I don’t judge people by their accents.

    • Bubba says:

      Why are they from Boston , I mean we got Philly Dysfuntionals just like that , so have em here too ..

  2. Karen d says:

    I think the point is this – the “hoppa” is a term older residents of Mass used for toilet. My FIL always did. This ad makes me laugh but I don’t know if too many people get it

  3. Mike says:

    This guy must be a friggin retahd

    • Jeanne says:

      Here I am in Cincinnati, Ohio, for the past 15 years. As a Boston native for 35 years, my ears perked up when this commercial came on. Faw-the-luv-a-gawd! it was that horrible accent of my youth! Both my parents had it and were highly educated. My sibling and I grew up in the same area as my parents yet never developed a Boston accent. Go and fig-ya.

      • joshw24 says:

        Yeah Cincinnati!

      • Jeanne says:

        Yeah, Cinci! Only thing weird about the accent here is when people say the word “have.” They don’t say have like anyone else; they say “hee-yav.”

        I hate it. lol!

      • Shauna says:

        I grew up in Alabama. And my aunt, born and bred in Bama moved to Boston. She stayed there for over 10 years. And she dispelled two myths I’ve always had about Boston accents. 1. I always thought Black people didn’t have those hilarious accents. (We’re Black). 2. The Boston accent was something you’re born with and can’t develop over time by living there.

        Now that I’ve lived up here, but in Ct not Boston, for 15 years. My friends back home tell me I talk like I’m from Boston. My aunt disagrees. She says I sound like I’m from Long Island.

  4. Lori says:

    I laugh hysterically at the Hoppah commercial with the Bahston accent. Being originally from Boston, a lot of people called the toilet the hoppah!

  5. bosfaninva says:

    LOL I grew up in RI and I still say “I gotta go hit the hoppah!”

  6. joshw24 says:

    It really must be a generational thing, because that’s a term I’ve never heard before.

  7. jo mac says:

    Waaay too funny…born and raised in Boston and my dad used to yell at us to “go shake the hoppah” when it was running!!!

  8. Trevor says:

    Nothing wrong with that accent. Lets not all turn into bland newscasters, eh.

  9. Maria says:

    Guy jumping out of car way to funny because you know how ridiculous it is . Straight face response from lady just as funny. Lol for me.

  10. TC says:

    I love it yes being born and raised in bean town I relate, It is pissa, wicked and all the rest

  11. she-hulk says:

    Lol, I love the Hopper commercials, even though I am not from Boston. I love the accents. I just got my Hopper installed a few weeks ago and it’s the DVR I have ever tried. It has a lot of cool features; my favorite is the Primetime Anytime feature. I am hardly home as it is; with going to school and working at Dish I use to miss a lot of my favorite primetime shows but the Hopper records all the primetime shows for me. A new feature that just got introduced is the Auto Hop where you can skip through primetime commercials so no more watching more commercials then the actual show!

  12. tagan says:

    Why don’t CBS, FOX, and NBC exec want consumers to enjoy commercial-free TV? It’s what we want! I’m a customer and employee of Dish, and I think AutoHop is great because you can easily watch commercial-free TV. A well known consumer advocacy group, Public Knowledge, agrees that people should have the right to control how they watch TV. They’re taking a stand for consumers by creating a petition that tells CBS, FOX, and NBC media to keep their hands out of your living room and DVR. Sign their petition to keep control of how you watch TV http://bit.ly/KFdn1Q

  13. R.I. chick says:

    lmfao i LOVE the accent. grew up in R.I. and recently moved to jersey (yea a whole other accent lol), so needless to say it was hilarious when my g/f was like wtf r they saying lmao… ppl hate on the accent but idk y bc there are accents out there that are far worse than the New England one. chicago area is even more obnoxious than our accents lol.. (sorry if anyone is from that area haha)

  14. Jason says:

    I had to use my PVR to slow the commerical down as I thought the old grandfather was Coach Ditka! Then that would be a Chicago family? I was left confused for a bit as I knew the accent was my own New England twistah… Don’t be so hard on accents Josh, these regional indifferences is what gives our national a little culture… we can’t all have that perfect grasp of the english language as found in Ohio.

  15. Tom Collins says:

    love it and also just had my hips done so that is super funny, made me gag laughing. it is wicked pissa!!!!!!!

  16. Megp says:

    I lived in Boston, but now the Midwwest. Hearing the accents on my tv in Chicagoland was wicked awesome. I laugh every time. And the other ad “So’s mine” with the old man is even funnier.

  17. jay says:

    The Boston accent is from the British pronunciation of the language. If you listen to someone from England you can hear it.

  18. Tearra says:

    I live in Dallas and I love those commercials such a salt of the earth east coast family.

    I also love the Boston accent. I think its charming and holds a lot of history and tradition. I love accents in general, I hate pretentious people who put down people with accents…

    Thank God we don’t all sound the same, how boring would that be???

  19. Kel says:

    I love these commercials and the Boston accents. I also love New York and New Jersey accents. By the way, I’m from Ohio.

  20. Blech says:

    I live in MA and that guys SUUUUUUCKS. 2000 shahks? go die.

  21. Boston accents annoying? Ask my wife, a born and raised Wisconsin kid what she thinks of my accent which comes out every so often. She loves it. So to everyone who rips on our “Hoppah” guys or on our accents, I will say what we like to say in Boston when we want someone to get lost or to get out of our face. SCREW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  22. boston sucksmyballs says:

    Boston accents make the rest of the nation sound uneducated. Are you serious? Did you even graduate from the 6th grade? Embarrassing. There is a reason actors train in the midwest so they can be understood by Americans.

  23. David says:

    They aren’t fake accents. All but one of the actors are Massachusetts natives from the Boston area.

  24. Gullyvah says:

    I’m an african american male in Middle GA and find this family incredibly funny. I don’t think its colloquial.

  25. suesunswim says:

    THIS COMMERCIAL IS RACIST. It targets Boston people who have a particular accent. Where is Obama and his nanny state minions???

  26. iamjec475 says:

    This commercial is the most annoying ever. No Hopper here. Dish you missed the mark. Go back to the drawing board.\

  27. it aint bahston says:

    The accent does not make the rest of the country sound uneducated. Cut the shit. Ever single region in this country has their own dialect.

    • the cxommercial with the men discussing whose shows will be recorded is promoting violence- if i do not get my way i will bash in your head take it off or my next letter will be to the fcc

  28. jjgene says:

    This commercial is a total fail. It’s stupid in every way.

  29. Mickey says:

    I can’t stan these commercials.. They fill my heart with rage.. They waaaayyyy over do the accent.. I born and raised in Boston for 28 years and nobody talks this bad.

  30. Jo says:

    God I HATE that commercial!! Every time it comes on I have to lunge for the remote. Make it stop!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

